Let’s give it another go…

Way back in the fall, Mike and I apparently had some time on our hands (or we were simply not thinking clearly) and thought “Hey!  We could have a blog!”  Why the hell not, right?  “Everyone” is blogging these days and far be it for either of us geeks to NOT jump on board.  We’re on Facebook, darnit!

So one evening, with all of the eagerness of a beaver before a flood, I set up this here blog and then… nothing…

I blame the Yankees AND the Mets, actually, because their post-season THUDs coincided with our complete lack of awareness of our brilliant Let’s Blog! idea.

But alas, there are signs of baseball and yes, spring.

In some parts of Florida, there are indications that our teams are picking themselves up and ready to face another season. I can’t say that I’m particularly thrilled, what with being a Yankees fan and all.  Mike, bless him, is more optimistic – I think.     Will Santana start on Opening Day?  Hmmm…

The thing is, with spring just around the corner, the economy in shambles nearly all around us, and the hard earned wisdom that the last few baseball seasons have taught us about ‘expectations,’ baseball in our household simply doesn’t hold the same “Yay!  Pitchers & Catchers are reporting!” breath of hope that it used to.

So tonight I’m blogging about why that is the case.

Maybe it’s the steroids thing.  Or, as Mike and half the sporting world calls it, A-Roid.  Oh well.  I think it’s safe to say that the glow of post-Barry Bonds happy moments for ‘the record’ is gone for good.  And lucky me, my team signed A-Rod and his freakshow up for a 10 year bloody contract.  I have emails, somewhere, to my friends Dorothy and Bill (Red Sox fans, but I’m still fond of them) that I hated the contract, didn’t want A-Rod to come back and so on.

If I had a blog back then, I would have proof here as well that I did NOT want A-Rod to stay a Yankee.  As far as I’m concerned, the Yankees have no shot in hell to win the World Series as long as A-Rod is on the team.  NONE.  Unfortunately, this increases the chances that Nicholas will grow up a Mets fan – which is far far worse than the Yankees not winning a championship.  At least in my world…

But I digress…

Maybe the blahs about baseball is due to the fact that we have Shea Stadium seats in our basement that cost what could realistically be cheaper than what it would take for our family of 4 to go to a game – any game – at both new stadiums of our teams this season.  Scary, sad and, in my opinion, disgusting.

Or maybe it’s that Mike and I are still happy that the Steelers won the Super Bowl in such OH MY GOD fashion that baseball hasn’t grabbed our full attention yet.  When a household collectively roots for 3 teams (Steelers, Jets, and Giants) in today’s NFL, it is safe to assume that at least 1 of the teams will make it to the post-season, especially given the teams we love.  Still, the odds were not necessarily in Pittsburgh’s favor and since the Steelers are the only professional sports team that both of us follow faithfully (and have before we even met), it was SUCH a great Super Bowl that we’ve happily basked in some kind of glow since the game ended (and how about that ending anyway?  I’ve watched it repeatedly on YouTube!).

Regardless of the reasons that I feel the way I do and possibly Mike does too (he’ll have to chime in at some point to answer this!), spring is on its way and baseball with it.  The snow has melted in our yard, though more may come our way before winter finally gives up, and Little League practices will begin soon.  The banter that Mike and I engage in over our teams will inevitably follow though, I strongly suspect, without the intensity or (gasp!) interest as in the past.

We’ll see…

2 responses to “Let’s give it another go…

  1. Wow, you are such a good writer that I forgot. I don’t even like sports and I had to read the whole thing. Love your blog…BA

  2. As a life-long Yankee fan, I’m looking forward to the baseball season anyway. Per A-Rod – I’ve come to the conclusion that he might be rich and have an agent who’s gotten him a lot of money but I don’t think he’s very smart in terms of his basic IQ.
    Outstanding physical ability – not so much on brain-power…. I wish they hadn’t gotten rid of Bobby Abreu – glad he got picked up right away.

    I’m looking forward to the season partly because there’s not much else I enjoy on evening TV. Still a Yankee fan because I can’t imagine cheering for any other team. I also plan on one visit to the new stadium (probably on a bus trip) during this first year, just to see it once…

    Hang in there!!! Mom

Leave a Reply

